Rule clarifications for ‘Monastery’ - to be updated as we go.
Link to Monastery strategy page - click here.
Is it possible to adapt the start set up with regard to the tiles drawn?
Yes it is. We have no problem with you adopting a different method of apportioning start tiles. You can draw 6 and choose 3 or allocate all players with 1 grey 2 point building, 1 path and 1 garden/brown building or adopt a method of your own.
Sometimes it might be best to play the first game without using the special abilities of the icon tiles (treat them as ordinary buildings). Whatever allows you to learn the game and then go on to expand the possibilities with the icon tiles at a subsequent playing.
Can the Scriptum tile and Farm tile icons be used before praying on the tile?
No. These icons are used if a monk is working. A monk cannot pray and work in the same Scoring (See page 6).
Thanks to Matt, Laurel and Robin for bearing with us at Games Expo on this one.
Can a blessing be used in the same scoring round that it is received?
No. Blessings received in one Scoring may be used in a subsequent Scoring (See page 7).
Thanks to Steve Kearon for this one. Steve pointed out that if it were allowed then a player could give other players their 1 point tile in the first round and still collect his own 1 point monk with the final blessing received. Neat, but too nasty.
Is there an exception to the rule of only one monk being able to pray on a tile (except in the Chapel)?
Use of the Abbot's House icon will allow a monk to be sent to the Prison Cell tile should there be an appropriate one to choose in the Abbey at the time of the 'snap' election. Providing the prison tile is not fully occupied, this could result in two monks being imprisoned at the same time. Both these monks would be set in the praying position (although not scoring points); this would therefore be an exception to the rule that only one monk may be set praying on any one tile (excepting the Chapel).
Thanks to Kendall Johns for prompting us to explain all this more fully; we're not sure the rules booklet could have taken the strain!
Can the current Abbott remain Abbott after an election?
Yes. If the current Abbott has the most monks in the Abbey for the election then the player remains the Abbott. If the current Abbott is tied for number of monks in the Abbey at election time then he/she must choose one of the other tied players and cannot choose to remain Abbott.
Return to top